The current NIC Nail Technology theory bulletin specifies 110 items, of which 100 contribute to the score, in 90 minutes across eight weighted domains. The practical has seven core sections. Its six timed core sections total 100 minutes, plus a separate five-minute polish-removal interval, individual blood-exposure assessment and instructions or transitions. Confirm the version and any additional sections assigned by your jurisdiction.
Two examinations, one licensure goal
NIC develops national licensure examinations for nail technology: a written theory test and a hands-on practical test. States adopt them and set their own requirements, so your first step is confirming what your jurisdiction uses.
The National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology (NIC) develops both examinations as licensure tests for nail technology. The theory exam is a multiple-choice test of professional knowledge; the practical exam is a timed, hands-on performance assessed at a testing station. Each is described in a Candidate Information Bulletin (CIB), the official document that lists the content outline, administration rules, and references.
The bulletins retrieved for this guide carry an effective date of September 1, 2025 and a revision date of March 1, 2026, and both state that you should check your official examination provider website or the NIC testing site for the most current bulletin before testing. Jurisdictions choose their exams, versions, and any additional practical sections, so treat the national bulletin as your content map and your state board as the authority on what you must take.
One terminology note: NIC offers a separate exam type called a Written Practical alongside the theory and practical examinations, and both bulletins state that the reference list is shared across theory, practical, written practical, and additional sections. These bulletins do not describe the Written Practical's format. The hands-on performance test covered here is the National Nail Technology Practical Examination, so confirm with your state board or examination vendor which exam type you are scheduled to take.
Sources: Examination Information - NIC Testing — Candidate Information Bulletin repository and exam overview; National Nail Technology Theory Examination CIB (effective 2025-09-01, revised 2026-03-01) — Content outline, sample questions, references; National Nail Technology Practical Examination CIB (effective 2025-09-01, revised 2026-03-01) — Core domain sections, supplies and labeling rules, blood exposure procedure
Theory exam format and content outline
The theory exam allows 90 minutes and contains 110 items, of which 100 are weighted and count toward your score. Eight domains cover science, procedures, and professional practice, with enhancement services carrying the largest share at 20 percent.
Knowing the weight of each domain lets you allocate study time proportionally rather than evenly. The current outline gives the two scientific-concept domains 15 percent each, chemistry 10 percent, and the five procedure domains the remaining 60 percent. Note that the CIB does not state a passing score or minimum percentage; that detail, where it applies, comes from your state or examination provider.
The administration rules are strict and worth reading in full before test day. You may not leave the examination area without permission, picture ID is required for re-entry, and phones, watches, and all other electronic devices are prohibited. Proctors cannot answer content questions, and any behavior suggesting an effort to cheat results in dismissal and a report to the proper authorities.
The bulletin also includes nine sample questions with an answer key, so you can see the four-option style before test day. The references used to develop the exam are the Milady Standard Nail Technology 8th Edition plus Foundations, Pivot Point Fundamentals: Nails (101N-107N), and the Tammy Taylor Guide to Manicuring and Advanced Nail Technology, Edition III; the CIB states candidates are responsible for using the most updated versions of these references.
Practice exercise
Original practice question, not an actual exam item: Using the domain weights above, which single domain contributes the most scored theory items, and how do the remaining procedure domains compare to it?
Show answer
The nail enhancement domain (application, maintenance, and removal of nail enhancement services) contributes the most, at 20 percent. Manicure and Pedicure Services follows at 18 percent, Nail Service Tools at 13 percent, Pre-service process at 5 percent, and Post-Service Procedures at 4 percent.
The CIB states the percentages represent the share of items from each domain. Comparing them shows enhancement services alone outweigh any other single domain, and the three heaviest domains (enhancement 20%, manicure and pedicure 18%, tools 13%) together account for more than half of the scored items. That distribution is the evidence-based argument for spending the largest block of study time on service procedures rather than splitting time evenly across all eight domains.
| Theory domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Scientific Concepts - Infection Control and Safety Practices | 15% |
| Scientific Concepts - Anatomy and Physiology | 15% |
| Scientific Concepts - Chemistry of Nail Products | 10% |
| Nail Technology Procedures - Pre-service process | 5% |
| Nail Technology Procedures - Nail Service Tools | 13% |
| Nail Technology Procedures - Manicure and Pedicure Services | 18% |
| Nail Technology Procedures - Application, Maintenance and Removal of Nail Enhancement Services | 20% |
| Nail Technology Procedures - Post-Service Procedures | 4% |
Practical exam: the seven core sections in order
The practical exam runs seven core sections: two workstation setups, a basic water manicure with polish, a full-well nail tip application, a sculptured nail, its removal, and a blood exposure procedure examined individually. The timed sections total 100 minutes.
The order matters because the exam is built as one continuous service scenario. You set up for a first client, perform the manicure and polish, remove the polish, and then prepare the station for a new client before moving to the enhancement work. The CIB states specifically that more than one client setup is required and that a new client is introduced during the examination, so a single setup practiced on repeat will not prepare you for the actual flow.
Timing is standardized. Timed sections have stated maximum allowances and announced warnings; blood exposure is examined individually. When you finish a section you step back or turn the hand toward the examiner, and when the timer sounds you must stop working immediately. Verbal instructions are read twice per section, and if you ask questions during the exam the only answers permitted are variations of 'do as you were taught' or 'do the best you can with what you have available.'
Section 2 includes an additional timed interval: after examiners assess the manicure, you get a separate five-minute instruction to remove the polish from the nails and properly dispose of the supplies from the previous section, with disposal in the correct containers scored as its own task. The final cleanup instruction reminds you that all kit supplies and disposable materials leave with you.
Practice exercise
Original ordering exercise, not an actual exam script: A classmate lists the core practical sections in this order - sculptured nail, work area and client preparation, removal of sculptured nail, basic water manicure and polish, blood exposure procedure, full-well nail tip application, new client preparation. Rearrange them into the administered sequence and state the total of the timed allowances.
Show answer
Correct sequence: (1) work area and client preparation, 15 minutes; (2) basic water manicure and polish application, 20 minutes; (3) work area and new client preparation, 10 minutes; (4) full-well nail tip application and blending, 15 minutes; (5) sculptured nail, 20 minutes; (6) removal of sculptured nail, 20 minutes; (7) blood exposure procedure, examined individually. The six timed section allowances total 100 minutes.
The practical CIB numbers the core domain sections in exactly this order and states the examination includes seven core sections based on the national job analysis. The scenario logic explains why the order is not arbitrary: setup precedes every service, the manicure block includes its own polish removal before a new client is prepared, and the enhancement work (tip, sculptured nail, removal) builds on the second setup. The blood exposure procedure is not slotted into the timed flow; the CIB marks it as examined individually, with the examiner instructing each candidate one at a time. The separate five-minute polish-removal interval makes 105 minutes of these timed intervals. Instructions, transitions, individual assessment and any additional sections are outside that sum; neither 100 nor 105 minutes is the official total appointment length.
| Core section | Time allowance |
|---|---|
| 1. Work area and client preparation, and set up of supplies | 15 minutes |
| 2. Basic water manicure and polish application | 20 minutes |
| Polish removal and disposal of used supplies (within section 2 flow) | 5 minutes |
| 3. Work area and new client preparation, and set up of supplies | 10 minutes |
| 4. Full-well nail tip application and blending | 15 minutes |
| 5. Sculptured nail | 20 minutes |
| 6. Removal of sculptured nail | 20 minutes |
| 7. Blood exposure procedure | Examined individually |
Supplies, labeling, and disinfection rules to master
You bring your own kit, and the bulletin regulates it closely: EPA-registered disinfectant wipes with demonstrated bactericidal, fungicidal, and virucidal properties, English-only labels, manufacturer labels on disinfectants and hand sanitizers, and low-odor monomer in its sealed original container.
Your kit doubles as dry storage and counts as part of the work area; it must stay closed except when you are removing materials, and nothing may be returned to it once removed. The bulletin makes supply readiness your responsibility: sufficient quantities, properly cleaned and disinfected, and implements in working order.
Labeling rules are scored tasks, not housekeeping. All supplies must be labeled in English. Original manufacturer labels are required for all disinfectants and hand sanitizers, simulated products are not allowed for those items, and handwritten or non-manufacturer labeling is not accepted where an original manufacturer label is required. Products may not be labeled as single-use items, and labels indicating order of use are not allowed.
For the sculptured nail section specifically, monomer must be low-odor or less-odor and factory sealed in its original container with the manufacturer's label, polymer must be in its original container with the manufacturer's label, and primer, if used, must also be in its original labeled container. You must wear gloves when using disinfectant. Disinfectant and aerosol sprays are banned entirely from the testing environment; only wipes are permitted.
Disposal is evaluated throughout. You must bring and use three containers labeled 'To be disinfected,' 'Soiled linens,' and 'Trash,' and the CIB flags proper designation of disposed materials as vital to this exam. State and vendor guidelines may add requirements, and mannequin hands, where required, must be entire hands with no removable digits and must be approved before admittance.
The blood exposure procedure
Blood exposure is examined individually and NIC evaluates it against the adopted OSHA bloodborne pathogens standard. You demonstrate the procedure on a scenario of a minor cut to your own index finger, and failure to follow the procedure can mean dismissal from the examination.
The bulletin adopts OSHA standard 29 C.F.R. 1910.1030 (bloodborne pathogens) as the evaluation basis. In the testing scenario, you sustain a minor cut during a service, the injury allows you to continue, and neither your work area nor the client is contaminated. The examiner instructs each candidate individually, and you may not begin until told to do so.
The published evaluation sequence, in outline: avoid contact with blood, apply an appropriate antiseptic hand cleanser before working on the client, put on disposable gloves, have the injured individual stop their own bleeding with cotton or tissue and discard it, bandage the cut, remove and discard the gloves immediately, place contaminated supplies in appropriate receptacles, and cleanse your hands again afterward. In the exam's scored tasks this appears as wearing gloves, cleaning the injured area with antiseptic, covering it with an absorbent secured dressing, and disposing of all contaminated supplies.
Two administrative points follow from the same document: contact the examination provider or state for the most current version of, and any addenda to, the blood exposure procedures before test day, and remember that unsafe infection control generally can produce a failing score or removal from the testing area. This is a demonstration of a protocol, not a substitute for the supervised training your licensing program provides.
How to prepare for both formats
Build your plan around the two bulletins: study the referenced textbooks against the theory outline's weights, and rehearse the practical sequence with supervised hands-on practice and strict attention to the published supply and labeling rules.
For theory, start from the domain table and let the weights drive your hours: enhancement services, manicure and pedicure, infection control, and anatomy together cover 68 percent of scored items. Work through the CIB's own sample questions early so you recognize the four-option format, then use your textbook chapters that map to each domain. The CIB lists the exact editions the test material references, so confirm you are studying current versions.
For practical, the bulletin states candidates perform tasks as they were taught, and hands-on competence comes from supervised training, not home drills. What you can legitimately rehearse at home is administration: assembling and labeling the supply kit exactly as specified, simulating the section sequence verbally, and walking through the blood exposure steps until the order is automatic. Check your state's mannequin and model rules before purchasing anything.
Several published rules cause avoidable problems if you skim the bulletin. Proctors will not answer content or procedure questions during the exam, so there is no in-room recovery for a forgotten step. Watches and phones of any kind are prohibited, personal items stay outside, and the timer ends every section immediately. Reading the Important Instructions section twice - once when planning, once the week of the test - costs nothing and prevents the failures the bulletin explicitly describes.
- Download and read both current CIBs in full, including the sample questions and suggested supplies lists
- Confirm with your state board or examination vendor which theory and practical versions and additional sections you must take
- Build the supply kit to the published specification: English labels, manufacturer containers for disinfectant and hand sanitizer, low-odor monomer, three disposal containers, EPA-registered wipes
- Study the referenced textbook editions against the theory domain weights
- Rehearse the practical sequence and blood exposure steps verbally; perform hands-on skill work only under qualified supervision
Sources: National Nail Technology Theory Examination CIB (effective 2025-09-01, revised 2026-03-01) — Content outline, sample questions, references; National Nail Technology Practical Examination CIB (effective 2025-09-01, revised 2026-03-01) — Core domain sections, supplies and labeling rules, blood exposure procedure
Official documents and next steps
Everything authoritative comes from two places: the NIC Candidate Information Bulletins for content and administration, and your state regulatory agency or examination vendor for scheduling, fees, passing requirements, and state-specific sections.
The NIC testing site maintains the master repository of Candidate Information Bulletins currently used in states and jurisdictions, along with exam type overviews, maps, and best-practice guidance. Both national bulletins direct you to verify the most current version there or through your official examination provider before testing.
Details this guide deliberately does not state include the passing score, fees, eligibility and training-hour requirements, and your state's additional practical sections. These are set per jurisdiction, and the practical CIB explicitly tells candidates to check with their state regulatory agency or examination administration vendor to determine required additional sections. Make those two contacts your first concrete steps, then plan study time against the domain weights and section structure documented here.
Sources: Examination Information - NIC Testing — Candidate Information Bulletin repository and exam overview; National Nail Technology Theory Examination CIB (effective 2025-09-01, revised 2026-03-01) — Content outline, sample questions, references; National Nail Technology Practical Examination CIB (effective 2025-09-01, revised 2026-03-01) — Core domain sections, supplies and labeling rules, blood exposure procedure
Sources
Exam facts verified against the official Candidate Information Bulletins retrieved September 15, 2026.:
